What are the 6 categories of mollusks?


What are the 6 categories of mollusks?

Mollusks can be segregated into seven classes: Aplacophora, Monoplacophora, Polyplacophora, Bivalvia, Gastropoda, Cephalopoda, and Scaphopoda. These classes are distinguished by, among other criteria, the presence and types of shells they possess.

How many species of mollusks are there?

Mollusca is the second-largest phylum of invertebrate animals after the Arthropoda. The members are known as molluscs or mollusks (/ˈmɒləsk/). Around 85,000 extant species of molluscs are recognized. The number of fossil species is estimated between 60,000 and 100,000 additional species.

What are the 5 main classes of Mollusca?

The Phylum Mollusca consist of 8 classes: 1) the Monoplacophora discovered in 1977; 2) the worm-like Aplacophora or solenogasters of the deep sea; 3) the also worm-like Caudofoveata; 4) the Polyplacophora, or chitons; 5) the Pelecypoda or bivalves; 6) the Gastropoda or snails; 7) the Scaphopoda, or tusk shells; and 8) …

What are the 5 groups of bivalves?

Bivalves as a group have no head and they lack some usual molluscan organs like the radula and the odontophore. They include the clams, oysters, cockles, mussels, scallops, and numerous other families that live in saltwater, as well as a number of families that live in freshwater. The majority are filter feeders.

What are the four types of mollusks?

The major classes of living mollusks include gastropods, bivalves, and cephalopods (Figure below).

  • Gastropods. Gastropods include snails and slugs. They use their foot to crawl.
  • Bivalves. Bivalves include clams, scallops, oysters, and mussels.
  • Cephalopods. Cephalopods include the octopus and squid.

What are the 3 classes of phylum Mollusca?


  • Mollusks are subdivided into seven classes with most species found in three of those classes: Gastropoda, Bivalvia, and Cephalopoda.
  • Gastropods make up the largest class of mollusks, and they include both snails and slugs.

What are the four major or largest groups of molluscs?

The four major groups of mollusks (phyla Mollusca) are: 1) chitons; 2) gastropods, including snails, slugs (mostly marine, but some freshwater), and nudibranches.

What are the 4 types of bivalves?

Bivalves include clams, scallops, oysters, and mussels. As their name implies, they have two parts of their shell, which can open and close.

What are the different types of mullet hair styles?

Other types of mullets include: The ‘skullet’ – a style created by shaving the top and sides of your head but leaving the back long. Often accompanied by bushy sideburns. The Momullet – a style where the top of the head is shaved into a thick stripe, the sides of your head shaved also, but the back is left long.

How many types of mullets are there in the world?

Needless to say there are quite a few types of mullets. Striped Mullet White Mullet Liza Mountain Mullet Irish Pompano Yellowfin Mojarra. The family includes about 78 species in 20 genera. For example a mullet paired with a chevron mustache is trending in the country music scene from Austin to Nashville. Click here for more forwards.

What kind of grass do mullets come from?

Millets are small-seeded grasses that belong to the Poaceae or Gramineae family. Mullets and Mojarras belong to different families but have many things in common – one being that several representatives of each family inhabit shallow coastal water throughout Florida and tropics and often run into fresh water as well.

About the author

Add Comment

By Admin

Your sidebar area is currently empty. Hurry up and add some widgets.