Who were the 13 signers of the declaration of independence?


Who were the 13 signers of the declaration of independence?

Signing the Declaration of Independence

  • Georgia: Button Gwinnett. Lyman Hall.
  • North Carolina: William Hooper. Joseph Hewes.
  • South Carolina: Edward Rutledge. Thomas Heyward, Jr.
  • Massachusetts: John Hancock.
  • Maryland: Samuel Chase. William Paca.
  • Virginia: George Wythe.
  • Pennsylvania: Robert Morris.
  • Delaware: Caesar Rodney.

How many authors wrote the declaration of independence?

Although we know Thomas Jefferson as the true author, the Second Continental Congress initially appointed five people to draw up a declaration. The committee included Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Roger Sherman, Robert Livingston and Thomas Jefferson.

Who were the five leaders that wrote the declaration of independence?

On June 11, 1776, the Continental Congress selects Thomas Jefferson of Virginia, John Adams of Massachusetts, Benjamin Franklin of Pennsylvania, Roger Sherman of Connecticut and Robert R. Livingston of New York to draft a declaration of independence.

Who wrote the declaration of independence and why?

United States Declaration of Independence
Location Engrossed copy: National Archives Building Rough draft: Library of Congress
Author(s) Thomas Jefferson, Committee of Five
Signatories 56 delegates to the Second Continental Congress
Purpose To announce and explain separation from Great Britain

Who wrote the majority of the Declaration of Independence?

Thomas Jefferson
Although Thomas Jefferson is often called the “author” of the Declaration of Independence, he wasn’t the only person who contributed important ideas. Jefferson was a member of a five-person committee appointed by the Continental Congress to write the Declaration.

About the author

Add Comment

By Admin

Your sidebar area is currently empty. Hurry up and add some widgets.