What are the stages of a massive main sequence star?


What are the stages of a massive main sequence star?

In general, the more massive a star is, the shorter its lifespan on the main sequence. After the hydrogen fuel at the core has been consumed, the star evolves away from the main sequence on the HR diagram, into a supergiant, red giant, or directly to a white dwarf.

What is the correct sequence for the evolution of an extremely massive star?

The most massive of stars (10+ solar masses) start out like smaller stars. They form from gas and dust in a nebula until it condenses into a protostar, when it starts to heat up and glow. It then becomes a main sequence star which will later become a red giant.

How are average and massive stars Different and the Same?

The average star, like our own, turns into a white dwarf. A massive star becomes either a neutron star or black hole.

What is the biggest main sequence star?

The largest known star is UY Scuti, a hypergiant with a radius somewhere around 1,700 times larger than the sun. Its mass, however, is only 30 times that of our nearest star.

How do you tell if a star is a main sequence star?

The luminosity and color of a star can be plotted on a graph called a Hertzsprung-Russell diagram (or H-R diagram). As shown here on screen, nearly all of the stars are located in a swath that extends from the upper-left (bright and hot) to the lower-right (dim and cool). These are the main sequence stars.

Which is the best definition of a massive star?

Important Definitions Massive star: a star at least eight times as massive as our sun Nebula: a cloud of gas and dust from which stars form Main sequence: the stable portion of a star’s life Red supergiant: a star that fuses heavier elements in its core

How does the life cycle of a massive star differ from a low mass star?

On the right of the illustration is the life cycle of a massive star (10 times or more the size of our Sun). Like low-mass stars, high-mass stars are born in nebulae and evolve and live in the Main Sequence. However, their life cycles start to differ after the red giant phase. A massive star will undergo a supernova explosion.

What happens in the main sequence of a star?

Main Life Sequence. In all stars, hydrogen continues to be fused into helium during a stable portion of the star’s life cycle called the main sequence. During this time, there is a balance between the gravitational inward forces and the core nuclear fusion outward forces.

What are the seven main stages of a star?

Seven Main Stages of a Star 1 Giant Gas Cloud. A star originates from a large cloud of gas. 2 Protostar. When the gas particles in the molecular cloud run into each other, heat energy is produced. 3 T-Tauri Phase. 4 Main Sequence. 5 Red Giant. 6 The Fusion of Heavier Elements. 7 Supernovae and Planetary Nebulae.

About the author

Add Comment

By Admin

Your sidebar area is currently empty. Hurry up and add some widgets.